The Price is Right.

 
Butterflies
As I wait
For your command.
 
Harbored secrets
Slink among the shadows
Lest the light
Reveal all.
 
Slight vibration signals my departure
And arrival
Outside this door.
 
Expertly
You appraise and pull me inside
Without fanfare
Or greeting
Or introduction
This is just business.
 
Before a word
You fingers reach 
Roughly 
Expertly
This time is my money 
And your clock already started.
 
Counting the notes
Your mouth 
Holding court 
Sits in judgement
Urging
Demanding
My fullest attention.
 
Yet
As I look down
Feeling 
Unsure and Inhibited
My excuses rain down upon you
Different 
This must be 
Unexpected
Unforeseen
And unwelcome.
 
There is only one chance
Here
Now
Not later,
Not tomorrow,
Never again.
 
Embarrassed mumbling 
Ignored by you
Mean nothing to you
As your phone rings
Fills the room
My head 
My essence
A nightmare maybe
Until I see your eyes
Dismissing me
Urging a different action now
As the door slams shut.
 
What now?
About Neil

Trying To Find The Spark Again To Write! View all posts by Neil

Leave a Reply

