A Fleeting Moment

My shallow breaths
Labored
Wishing for more.

The moon peeks through
My nakedness
Trivial now
Remembering
When it wasn’t so
Shouting and yelling
Our laughter
Our Love
Overcame them all.

That moment I knew
We would be together
Forever.

A gentle cough
That taste of blood on my lips
Oh I how I love you.

Fingers dig deeper, feeling the ground beneath me
The moon steps aside
Darkness beckons
Slowly but with a purpose
Enveloping my body.

I try to call you
Wanting
To feel you
Loving me
To hear you
Breathe.

I reach out
As you float
Before me
Even though my fate
Is sealed
I hear that metallic sound
Feel that cold steel on my neck.

July 4th fireworks
Explode all around
I see you smile
As I slip
Into eternity
Finally delivered home from a foreign land
Where war resides
For future generations.

About Neil

Trying To Find The Spark Again To Write! View all posts by Neil

Leave a Reply

