Atonement.

Simmering haze
Distorts everything
Air so hot, so heavy
Tasting the jet fuel
In my mouth
Even the most expensive
Water cannot rid me of it.

That I have dreamed about
A journey
A rebirth
For me
Along with renewal.

Eyes closed now
So hot
As memories surge
So intense
Feeling you
Fingers stroking me
Lips caressing me
As sweat trickles between us
Pulling you closer
I gasp aloud
As I hear a distant voice
Calling the faithful to prayer.

Snap back.
Eyes wide open
They tell my story
To those that look and wonder.

Time left us behind
Lives fashioned their own path
Friends once Lovers
Lovers once friends
Regale me
Dance before me
Arms wide open
As I take my first step.

About Neil

Trying To Find The Spark Again To Write! View all posts by Neil

One response to “Atonement.

Leave a Reply

