Brooks Bros and Bound

Faintly at first
I dismiss the whispers
But you will not
Be denied.
Open my eyes
To find you
Still I am lost.
Can pain
Be described as ‘adequate’?
My shock
My scream
Total silence.

Advice
Counsel
Would you listen
Or plaintive stares?
I wonder.
Yet, I am alone too
Not sitting
But a standing of sorts
Fixed position of sorts
Dictated and designed
As promised.

Your halo
Somewhat askew
From my perspective
Me, missing only a
Crown of Thorns
To complete
My shame
My embarrassment
My life.

Your unhappiness evident
Tsk, tsk
You signed that cherished covenant
Yet who is the stranger now?
My signature
Scribbled
Scrawled
Unrecognizable
Even to me
My feelings
My expectations
All now
Encased in this suit
So tight
That each breath
Measured
Controlled
And permitted.

We see each other every night
Neither opening
Our blinds more than a crack
Both harboring secrets
Trying to survive
In different
Worlds.

Our common bond
Pain.

About Neil

Trying To Find The Spark Again To Write! View all posts by Neil

2 responses to “Brooks Bros and Bound

Leave a Reply

